Portal de La Union

La Union - SpanishLa Union - English
detail of La Union


Memorials of water (22/03/2012)

Thursday March 22 is World Water Day UN, and for that reason, we have held a series of events in our town, in order to commemorate this anniversary and the 50th anniversary of the arrival of water Taibilla La Union, a fact that half a century was completed on 17 December.

The activities have started in the House Pinion with Ródenas Francisco conference, archivist municipal and county official chronicler, entitled "Memories of four centuries of thirst: The Power of Losar to Taibilla Waters", and the that Ródenas described with his usual wisdom and good work all the facets of the water supply to the inhabitants of the Union over the last four years.

After that, took place the official ceremony, which was attended by the new President of the Segura basin, Miguel Angel Rodenas, and our mayor, Francisco Bernabé, who have glossed the enormous importance of this now and the absolute need for transfers to Murcia from other basins to be able to maintain our agriculture.

It should be noted that this was the first official act in a municipality of its jurisdiction, which includes four different regions, which has held the President of the Confederation since coming to office.

Also, it has given meaning and sincere tribute to the old water carriers of the municipality, to whose work could be drinking safe water in La Union before the arrival of the Taibilla Channels.

It is also thanked his great merit to the mayor that made possible the coming of the drinking water in 1961, Esteban Bernal Velasco.

Finally, the Glorieta Enrique Living, has reproduced the act that took place half a century ago, when first opened the source that brought water to the Union.

The list of distinguished water carriers is as follows:

Antonio Navarro Garcia

Francisco Mendez Liarte

Santiago Diaz Martinez

Bernardo Martinez Lopez.

Diego Martinez Campillo

Bernardo Martinez Campillo

Agustin Maldonado Valverde

Gabriel Maldonado Valverde

Gines Fernandez Valverde

Pedro Jimenez Lopez

Jose Jimenez Garre

Joseph Rosique Moral

Dionisio Garcia Ros

Jose Garcia Martinez

Antonio Perez Imbernón

Juan Garcia Albacete

Francisco Montero Hernández

Ernesto Martinez Fernandez

Source: Ayuntamiento de La Unión

UNE-EN ISO 9001:2000 - ER-0131/2006 © 2019 Alamo Networks S.L. - C/Alamo 8, 30850 Totana (Murcia) Privacy policy - Legal notice Región de Murcia
Este sitio web utiliza cookies para facilitar y mejorar la navegación. Si continúas navegando, consideramos que aceptas su uso. Más información